French

KENSAKU  SHIMIZU Compositeur 

©Seiichi Uozumi

La musique de Kensaku Shimizu illustre son exploration bien particulière de l’histoire, des sociétés et des paysages qu’il sonde aussi bien en Occident qu’en Orient.

C’est grâce au Requiem for Fukushima, œuvre commandée par l’Orchestre symphonique de Baden-Baden et Fribourg-en-Brisgau après la catastrophe survenue dans la région de Tohoku au Japon en 2011, que Kensaku Shimizu a acquis une réputation à l’échelon international. La création, qui a eu lieu à Constance en Allemagne en mars 2012, a fait grande impression sur le public.

« Peut-être Shimizu, dans sa manière de composer la strette, dépeint-il le symbole d’une société soudée par un évènement commun terrifiant. […] Ce n’est qu’en y regardant de plus près, ou encore en écoutant plus attentivement, qu’on découvre d’innombrables destinées, des cris de détresse individuels. »

Elisabeth Schwind, Südkurier

Kensaku est indubitablement l’un des compositeurs les plus importants de notre époque, dont les œuvres extrêmement acclamées rencontrent un intérêt croissant aussi bien aux États-Unis et dans les pays européens qu’au Japon.

L’une des œuvres récentes du compositeur pour piano et violoncelle, Into the Deep, une commande de la Musikfest de Brême et de Leonard Elschenbroich, a connu sa création mondiale en août 2015. Cette première mondiale fut diffusée par la radio Deutschlandfunk le 25 janvier 2016, avant que le morceau ne soit interprété tout au long de l’année 2016 dans de nombreuses salles à travers le monde, en Bavière à Breitachklamm (6 juin), en Grande-Bretagne au Ryedale Festival au Potter Hill (juillet), à la Chichester Council House de Chichester (27 octobre), à la Holy Trinity Church de Claygate (29 octobre), ainsi qu’en Corée du Sud au Tongyeong Concert Hall (7 octobre) et au Japon au Daishi Hall (10 octobre).

Son dernier morceau pour piano, Izumi, a été interprété pour la première fois aux Europäische Wochen de Passau en Bavière en 2013. Lors de la première, Izumi a remporté un grand succès auprès du public, ce qui s’avère assez exceptionnel pour un morceau de musique contemporaine. Le Bayerischer Rundfunk (BR) a donc immédiatement décidé de diffuser l’œuvre et Izumi fut sur les ondes à peine un mois plus tard. En 2015, Izumi fut joué en Allemagne le 7 mai au Klavier Festival Ruhr à Bottrop, le 25 juin au Festival estival de musique du Bosco à Gauting en Bavière, le 5 novembre au cours d’un récital de piano de Mona Asuka à Ebersberg, également en Bavière.

Parmi ses derniers succès, il faut citer une œuvre pour orgue jouée à l’occasion du concert du 10e anniversaire du Suntory Hall, une exposition de ses œuvres tenue au Bandai International Music Festival, des arrangements orchestraux des trois morceaux d’anthologie de rock progressif, 21st Century Schizoid Man de King Crimson, Close to the Edge de Yes et The Great Gigs in the Sky de Pink Floyd. Ces morceaux, qui ont été interprétés en concert pour le 55e anniversaire de la chaîne TV Asahi en février 2014, ont totalement subjugué le public.

Kensaku a composé de nombreuses pièces pour flûte et orchestre, comme Disparate Space-Time II, dont la partition fut publiée par Ongaku No Tomo Sha Corp. Un CD intitulé Umi (la mer) est sorti en 2010, comportant des morceaux pour flûte, flûte alto et piccolo avec accompagnement de piano.

Kensaku Shimizu n’a cessé de remporter de nombreux prix de composition et d’obtenir des fonds. En 1990, il a obtenu à l’unanimité le premier prix du 7e Concours International de composition Henryk Wieniawski en Pologne, aucun second prix n’étant attribué.

On lui a également commandé de nombreuses compositions. Parmi les commanditaires, figurent Doriot Dwyer, l’ancien flûte solo du Boston Symphony Orchestra, Japan Organ Society, Powell Flutes Japan et la Japan Association for the Mathematical Sciences. Outre Izumi et le Requiem for Fukushima, nombre de ses œuvres ont été jusqu’à présent interprétées par des instrumentistes réputés dans le monde entier, comme Jacque Zoon, l’ancien flûte solo de l’Orchestre symphonique de Boston ou encore Kazuo Tokito, l’ancien piccolo solo de l’Orchestre de Philadelphie. En 2009, son œuvre orchestrale Transmutation a été créée à Kiev, par l’Orchestre symphonique national d’Ukraine.

Bien que Kensaku soit toujours très pris par la composition, il a accepté des invitations au Festival de Musiques Nouvelles de Toulouse, France, à l’Université de Qiqihar en Chine et, plus récemment, au College of New Jersey for the Composer’s Forum aux États-Unis. En 2016, Shimizu a fait partie du jury international de l’ISCM World Music Days 2016 de Tongyeong (Corée du Sud).

Né au Japon, Kensaku Shimizu a débuté sa carrière en tant que compositeur aux États-Unis. Il est diplômé du New England Conservatory of Music de Boston, où il a passé son bachelor en musique, avec spécialisation en théorie, ainsi qu’un master en musique, avec une distinction en composition. En 1998, il a été sélectionné pour participer au « Stage Program », lui permettant d’étudier l’informatique et la technologie musicales à l’IRCAM à Paris, où il a également donné des cours en tant que professeur invité. Puis il a passé son doctorat en composition à l’Université de Harvard avec une bourse complète, un honoraire et l’opportunité d’enseigner.

Shimizu a étudié la composition et la théorie auprès de Robert Cogan, Pozzi Escot, Donald Martino, Earl Kim, Bernard Rands et Joji Yuasa.

Actuellement, il est professeur à l’Université de Niigata et professeur invité à l’Université de Qiqihar.

Ses transcriptions récentes des Japanese Songs & World Songs comprennent Sakura-Sakura Fantasy, une fantaisie sur le Londonderry Air, dont la création a eu lieu sur Dolce le 25 décembre 2016 à Tokyo. Dès janvier 2017, il a été possible de la télécharger sur le canal Dolce Classic Channel, soit en format mp3, qualité CD ou en 24 bit 192 khz.

La première de Rest, while you can, une œuvre pour piccolo, deux flûtes, flûte alto et piano, nouvellement commandée par le célèbre flûtiste Ryu Noguchi — qui a créé des morceaux de Toru Takemitsu et de Yoshio Hachimura — a eu lieu au Tokyo Opera City le 19 mai 2017.

-December 2018- Translated by Laurence Wuillemin

Biography

KENSAKU  SHIMIZU –Composer-

©Seiichi Uozumi©Seiichi Uozumi

The music of Kensaku Shimizu must represent his unique exploration into history, societies and landscapes both in the Occidental and Oriental worlds. 

His fame spread out globally through “The Requiem for Fukushima” that was a commissioned work by the Southwest German Philharmonic Orchestra after the catastrophe in the Tohoku region, Japan, in 2011. This piece was world-premièred in Konstanz, Germany, in March 2012 to convey a great impression to the audience.

“In this piece of work, Shimizu seems to illustrate ‘societies’ somewhat tied by similar fearful events with his imminent way of music. Imagining them and listening to the piece carefully, we can see each person’s fate and grief…”                                                                     – Elisabeth Schwind, Südkurier-

Kensaku is no doubt one of the most important composers of our time, with his highly acclaimed works increasingly gaining prestigious recognition in the United States and European countries as well as in Japan.

One of recent works of Kensaku, “In to the deep” for cello and piano, a commissioned work by the Bremen Music Festival and Leonard Elschenbroich, was world-premiered in the Bremen Music Festival in Aug. 2015. This world-premiere was broadcasted by Deutschlandfunk on 25th Jan. 2016. Then performed in many venues in the world in 2016 such as Breitachklamm, Germany, on 6th Jun., the Ryedale Festival, Potter Hill, UK, in Jul., Chichester Council House, Chichester, UK on 27th Oct., Holy Trinity Church, Claygate, UK, on 29th Oct., Tongyeong Concert Hall, South Korea, on 7th Oct., and the Daishi Hall, Japan, on 10th Oct.

His latest piano solo piece, “Izumi”, was performed for the first time in the Passau European Week Festival in Germany in 2013. At the première stage, Izumi won great acclaim from the audience, that is rather extraordinarily to a contemporary piece of music. The Bayerischer Rundfunk (Bavarian Broadcasting, BR) hence instantly decided to broadcast the piece, and Izumi got on-air only a month later. In 2015, Izumi was played at the Klavier-Festival Ruhr in Bottrop, Germany, on 7th May, the summer music festival at Gauting Bosco, Germany, on 25th June, and a piano recital by Mona-Asuka Ott in Ebersberg, Germany, on 5th November.

His recent remarkable achievements include: a piece of work for the pipe organ performed at the Suntory Hall for its 10th anniversary concert; an exhibition of his works held at the Bandai International Music Festival; orchestral arrangements of the famous three progressive-rock pieces, “21st Century Schizoid Man” by King Crimson, “Close to the Edge” by Yes and “The Great Gigs in the Sky” by Pink Floyd. These progressive rock pieces were performed in a concert for TV Asahi’s 55th Anniversary in February 2014 to absolutely fascinate the audience.

Kensaku has written many a piece for the flute and orchestras such as “Disparate Space-Time II”, sheet music of which was published by ONGAKU NO TOMO SHA Corp. A compact disc titled “Umi” (the sea) was released in 2010, which includes pieces written for the flute, alto flute and piccolo with piano accompaniment.

Kensaku is a serial recipient of many composition awards and funds. In 1990, he unanimously won the first prize in the 7th International WieniawskiCompetition for Composers in Poland, with no one in the second place.

He has also been delegated many compositional commissions. The clients include; Doriot Dwyer, the former principal flutist at the Boston Symphony Orchestra; Japan Organ Society; Powell Flutes Japan; and Japan Association for the Mathematical Sciences. In addiotion to Izumi and the Requiem for Fukushima, many of his works have so far been performed by world’s leading players such as Jacque Zoon, the former principal flutist at the Boston Symphony; Kazuo Tokito, the former principal piccolo player at the Philadelphia Orchestra. In 2009, his orchestral work, “Transmutation”, was world-premièred in Kiev, Ukraine, by the National Symphony Orchestra of Kiev.

Though Kensaku is always busy with composition, he accepted invitations to the Festival de Musiques Nouvelles in Toulouse, France, the Qiqihar University in China, and most recently, the College of New Jersey for the Composer’s Forum in the United States. In 2016, Kensaku sat as an international judge at the ISCM World Music Days 2016 Tongyeong (South Korea).

Born in Japan, Kensaku started his career as a composer in the United States. He is a graduate of New England Conservatory of Music in Boston, where he earned Bachelor’s degree in Music, specialized in theory, and Master’s degree in Music,with distinction in composition. In 1998, he was selected to participate in the “Stage Program” to study computer music and music technology at IRCAM in Paris, where he also gave lectures as a visiting scholar. He then completed his doctorate program in composition at Harvard University with a full scholarship, stipend and the opportunity to serve as teaching fellow.He studied composition and theory with Robert Cogan, Pozzi Escot, Donald Martino, Earl Kim, Bernard Rands and Joji Yuasa. 

Currently, Kensaku is a Professor at Niigata University and a visiting Professor at Qiqihar University in China.

His recent works transcription of “Japanese Songs & World Songs” includes “Sakura-sakura” Fantasy, Fantasy on Londonderry Air, premièred at Dolce on 25th Dec. 2016, in Tokyo, are able to download through the Dolce Classic Channel from Jan. 2017, in the format of either mp3, CD quality or 24 bit 192 khz.

A new commissioned work by a renowned flutist Ryu Noguchi who premièred pieces of Toru Takemitsu and Yoshio Hachimura, “Rest, while you can”, for piccolo, two flutes, alto flute and piano, is premièred at Tokyo Opera City on 19th May 2017.

Kensaku’ new work, “Kyakurai for string orchestra”, will be premiered on 21st January 2019 at Berlin Philharmonie chamber music hall by Kammersymphonie Berlin under the button of Jürgen Bruns.

-December 2018-